Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revisionPrevious revision
Next revision
Previous revision
learn:programmable-logic:tutorials:zedboard-creating-custom-ip-cores:start [2016/07/26 20:45] – jon peyronlearn:programmable-logic:tutorials:zedboard-creating-custom-ip-cores:start [2022/10/04 11:38] (current) – external edit 127.0.0.1
Line 4: Line 4:
 ---- ----
 =====Prerequisites===== =====Prerequisites=====
-- Completed the Zedboard [[https://reference.digilentinc.com/learn/programmable-logic/tutorials/zedboard-getting-started-with-zynq/start|Getting Started with Zynq]]+- Completed the Zedboard [[/learn/programmable-logic/tutorials/zedboard-getting-started-with-zynq/start|Getting Started with Zynq]]
 - Have SDK installed - Have SDK installed
  
Line 224: Line 224:
 >{{:zybo:zybo:image_48.png?nolink&800|}} >{{:zybo:zybo:image_48.png?nolink&800|}}
  
->6.3) Select **Customization GUI**. This is were we get to change our graphical interface. One problem, there is not a window for our parameter. Right-click **Pwm Counter Max** and select **Edit Parameter...**. Check the box next to **Visible in Customization GUI**. Check the **Specify Range** box. Select **Range of Integers** from the **Type** drop-down menu. Since we have a max value of (2^16)-1 = 65535 and a min value of 0, this is not useful but whatever. Click **Ok**.+>6.3) Select **Customization GUI**. This is were we get to change our graphical interface. One problem, there is not a window for our parameter. Right-click **Pwm Counter Max** and select **Edit Parameter...**. Check the box next to **Visible in Customization GUI**. Check the **Specify Range** box. Select **Range of Integers** from the **Type** drop-down menu. Since we have a max value of (2^16)-1 = 65535 and a min value of 0, then Click **Ok**.
 > >
 >{{:zybo:zybo-6.3-edit-ip-param.png?nolink&800|}} >{{:zybo:zybo-6.3-edit-ip-param.png?nolink&800|}}
Line 283: Line 283:
 >{{:zybo:zybo:image_35.png?nolink&600|}} >{{:zybo:zybo:image_35.png?nolink&600|}}
  
->7.11) Double-click **design_1_wrapper.v** to open it in the editor. Take note of the name for the PWM signals. Add the "zedboard_master_XDC_RevC_D_v3.xdc" constraint file that can be downloaded * [[http://zedboard.org/support/documentation/1521 | ZedBoard.org]]* First comment all lines then uncomment the lines of code for the LEDs in the xdc file and change this:+>7.11) Double-click **design_1_wrapper.v** to open it in the editor. Take note of the name for the PWM signals. Add the "zedboard_master_XDC_RevC_D_v3.xdc" constraint file that can be downloaded from [[https://www.avnet.com/wps/portal/us/products/avnet-boards/avnet-board-families/zedboard/|Avnet's Zedboard page]]. First comment all lines then uncomment the lines of code for the LEDs in the xdc file and change this:
 ><code> ><code>
       ## ----------------------------------------------------------------------------       ## ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Line 343: Line 343:
  
  
->8.2) Setup the window, click **Next** and **Finish**.+>8.2) Setup the window as shown below and then click **Next** 
 > >
->{{:zybo:zybo:image_42.png?nolink&600|}} +>{{:learn:programmable-logic:tutorials:zedboard-creating-custom-ip-cores:image_15.jpg?600|}} 
- +> 
->8.3) Expand the **PWM_AXI_tutorial->src** folder. Right-click the **src** folder and **add a new file**. Create a file named "main.c".+>8.3) Select **Empty Application** and then click **Finish**. 
 +> 
 +>{{:learn:programmable-logic:tutorials:zedboard-creating-custom-ip-cores:image_13.jpg?600|}} 
 +> 
 +>8.4) Expand the **PWM_AXI_tutorial->src** folder. Right-click the **src** folder and **add a new file**. Create a file named "main.c".
 > >
 >{{:zybo:zybo:image_63.png?nolink&600|}} >{{:zybo:zybo:image_63.png?nolink&600|}}
  
->8.4) Add the lines:+>8.5) Add the lines:
 ><code> ><code>
 #include "xparameters.h" #include "xparameters.h"
Line 379: Line 383:
 </code> </code>
  
->8.5) To program the FPGA, Go to **Xilinx Tools->Program FPGA**. To load the SDK application onto the Zedboard, expand **PWM_AXI_tutorial->binaries** and right-click on "PWM_AXI_tutorial.elf" and select **Run As->Launch on Hardware (GDB)**.+>8.6) To program the FPGA, Go to **Xilinx Tools->Program FPGA**. To load the SDK application onto the Zedboard, right-click on "PWM_AXI_tutorial" and select **Run As->Launch on Hardware (System Debugger)**. 
 +> 
 +>{{:learn:programmable-logic:tutorials:zedboard-creating-custom-ip-cores:image_14.jpg?600|}}
 > >
->{{:zybo:zybo:image_46.png?nolink&700|}} 
  
  
Line 388: Line 393:
 ====9. Celebrate!==== ====9. Celebrate!====
 Now the 4 LEDs on the Zedboard will be pulsing.  Lean back in your chair and feel accomplished because you just created your own custom IP core. Now the 4 LEDs on the Zedboard will be pulsing.  Lean back in your chair and feel accomplished because you just created your own custom IP core.
 +{{tag>learn programmable-logic tutorial zedboard}}